GPU overclocking problems/confusion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luxar

Baseband Member
Hey,

I just decided to try my hand at some n00bile basic overclocking yesterday, and was a little frustrated by the results. I've got a geforce 6800 ultra card stock clocked at 400mhz/1100mhz. I used the overclocking menu in the nVidia drivers to bump it up to 410/1100. Then I went to 420/1100, and at that point it became unstable when heavy gaming(I tested in hl2, ended up with a lot of 'snow').

I must say I'm a little disappointed. Well, I guess not so much disappointed as confused. I'm new to the whole overclocking thing so I really don't know if what I've got is decent or not. I built my comp with overclocking at least a little bit in mind. Although I didn't get an aftermarket cooler for my vga, I did buy a Leadtek card just because the heatsink was massive and I heard it was effective. To me, my overclock seems a bit weak? Did I just get a bad card? Am I doing something/not doing something I ought to be doing?

The drivers read my gpu's temp. as 67 celsius idling at stock speeds. Is this a typical/good temp. for my card?

Any help is much appreciated.

With n00bile love and envy,
Luxar

Your artifacts are a result of heat, and with 67C idle that's what is limiting you no question at all

Wow, the Ultra does not overclock well... I would have thought it would overclock better. My 6800GT is at 405/1150 stock cooling from 350/1000.

What do you think could be creating such heat? What's the typical idle of the 6800 ultra?

I thought I had my bases covered on cooling, I got a well ventilated case w/ 4 nice fans, a nice big heatsink on the Leadtek card...

Where I live, Houston TX, it does get pretty hot, but we've got plenty of a/c so it's always a comfortable temperature where my computer is.